A Quest on Overdrive … :)

An eccentric rambler on life's lessons and mercies, found and lost… :)

Listen

Leave a comment

I began writing, with pen and paper, early this morning. As I wrote, a persistent squirrel protested, from the tree outside. Perhaps Mia was walkabout. A hungry/thirsty cow mooed. Ambient sounds filled the air. Sounds, voices that reach you in a quiet countryside. I stopped and listened. And then I knew that today’s musings would be “Listen”.

Do we, enough? How do we? Whole and present, despite the noise around, and the hand-held flickering screens? With thoughts clamouring loud and relentless, within? I consider myself a good listener (at the risk of sounding arrogant), and have been fortunate to have had wonderful ones in my life. And then there are those who listen only to react and argue – sometimes, one needs to put that aside till all is shared and then gently suggest, if needed.

So here’s the thing – why does one share things? So that the solution is found? More often than not, it is to vent, to rant, to rave, to let out stuff. Listening, just being there, holding space is all that is needed! I know the intent is to help, but what if I’m contrary and want your “listening ears and heart” instead, I say, silently. Sit with me. Listen. Let me listen to you.

Kindness, compassion, patience and love – and then the courage to actually listen with understanding – in my book, these are what good listeners have.

And you know what a superpower it is to be able to listen to/for silences? That is the greatest comfort ever! (Winnie the Pooh-Piglet quotes) A silence can be a plea, and the comfort of someone who sits by you in silence, holding you, in person or thought, that is as good as it gets. A poster in our English Staff room had this: If you cannot understand my silence, you will never understand my words!

Listening might seem like a passive skill, but its very nature of being a receptive skill makes it exceptional. There has to be a certain integrity and honesty to be a worthy listener. I hope you have them in your lives.

Thank you, all of you, who are mine – in my noise, voice, silence – and have held space. You know who you are. I love you.

7 September, 2023, for Day#7 of #SeptemberMusings

Picture taken from a google search for Winnie the Pooh quotes

Author: Usha Pisharody

A rambler, pretends to be a teacher, loves to dream, and go on Quixotic Quests in the Realm of Romance With Life...

Thank you for reading. Do stop a while and write in too... :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.