A Quest on Overdrive … :)

An eccentric rambler on life's lessons and mercies, found and lost… :)

Learn

Leave a comment

Thank you for the wishes on Teachers’ Day; wishing all you mentors and support staff right back!

As always, I have to be contrary, and so the blog says Learn. Humour me while I take off on a tangent? I once had a DP on Facebook, which had the words Teach and Learn reflect each other. Like so:

It captures so much, does it not?

**The biggest learning has been to know there is UNLEARNING that needs to take place**

Blog tradition, in this space has celebrated what Teachers’ Day means to me personally, and if you were to click this (LINK), you can go down that rabbit hole! You have been warned 😀 However, I’ve seen a definite change in my role over the years, and have become more of the reflection what I have learnt. That picture is indeed meaningful!

The teacher is no longer that highly revered repository of knowledge/values. BUT, when committed, they are the LIGHT that guides impressionable minds to it, and MORE. The more enthusiastically and compassionately it is done, the better!

That is why Learner-Teacher is a tagline I’ve favoured, even though Job Description requires that I write Teacher – and I receive wishes feeling like an imposter!

A final word: I do wish Administrators and Management Level Supervisors in Educational Institutions – most esp. schools- would let them do what they do best – facilitate learning; instead they are roped in for n number of mundane tasks that take away that precious teaching-learning activity time!

A favourite set of thoughts on “Successful Teacher” that I found someplace on the Internet, I typed up and stuck on the staff room wall. I found it recently while looking for something else 😀 Yellowed, frayed, with bits of paint still stuck at the back… Here:

I always smile at the last line 🙂

5 September, 2023, Day#5 of #SeptemberMusings

P.S. To all who have sent wishes personally, and thought of me in some way, my gratitude. I’ve always maintained that a Teacher is what their students make of them. Pun and Pronoun entirely intended! 😀

Author: Usha Pisharody

A rambler, pretends to be a teacher, loves to dream, and go on Quixotic Quests in the Realm of Romance With Life...

Thank you for reading. Do stop a while and write in too... :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.